Latin Quarter - Modern Times

Buy Now

1Modern Times3:45
2No Ordinary Return3:35
3Radio Africa3:53
5America For Beginners5:16
7No Rope As Long As Time4:28
8Seaport September3:18
9The New Millionaires3:35
10Truth About John4:00
  • Released: 1985
  • Rockin' Horse Records ZD 70840

Album Credits

Latin Quarter
Carol Douet (vocals, percussion)
Yona Dunsford (vocals, piano)
Greg Harewood (bass)
Steve Jeffries (keyboards, vocal)
Mike Jones (lyrics)
Steve Skaith (vocals, guitar)
Richard Stevens (drums, percussion)
Richard Wright (guitar, vocals)

Additional Musicians
Steve Gregory (sax)
Martin Ditcham (percussion)
Steve Greetham (bass on “Radio Africa”)

Production Credits
Produced and Mixed by Pete Hammond & Latin Quarter
Except: “Radio Africa” – Produced by Nigel Gray

Cover painting James Swinson – Design Zero One


“… He’s [Mike Jones] also a dab hand at those snappy one liners that the likes of a Costello or a Difford get regularly feted for.” NME

“… the catchy hooks fly thick and fast.” The Hit

“You’ve got to respect an English synth band that bothers to write real songs about real issues.” Playboy

“… a really superb lyrical content throughout.” RM

“The lyric comes from a catchy exercise in light reggae called Radio Africa (included here), and any expectations it awakened that here was a band with not only a conscience but also political awareness are fulfilled by this album. The songs are literate, punchy and pertinent – this tour through the modern world takes in, for instance, South Africa, both Reagan’s and McCarthy’s America, the Falklands/Malvinas, and the Welsh coal-mining valleys. The kind of songs New Internationalist readers (and editors) would write if they had the chance and the skill.” Politics 5/5, Entertainment 4/5 – New Internationalist Magazine